elemental level of presence

22 05 2011
elemental level of presence by ajbbents
elemental level of presence, a photo by ajbbents on Flickr.

There is something about shooting film that brings me to that pure, elemental level of presence. I take my time, I really look at what is in my frame, I’m aware of the light all around me, and all I think about is how best to tell the story of that one moment. I have one {maybe two} shots to make the images speak the words of my creative soul and I become very deliberate about my actions. There’s no later to edit the feelings in.
…maegan beishline of www.madelinebea.com

This camera is certainly nothing too fancy. You can pick it up on ebay for about $20, and the shutter sticks precisely when you don’t need it to. The totally beaten up leather case makes it look a lot more bad ass than it actually is. Regardless, I love to pull this guy out of the closet from time to time, drag it around with me and see what I can create with it.

I was only able to grab one shot with it on Saturday before the shutter decided to pull its trick. I’ll probably keep it handy throughout the rest of this course to nab a shot or two when it decides it wants to cooperate.

And there’s something about that – it’s not, in this case, about creating art on my terms, there has to be a a moment in concert with all of the right elements for it to work. Applicable beyond a testy old film SLR? I think so.

051:365
21 May 2011

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

